Homepage > News > Culture > 

The Hurt Locker wins best film BAFTA

2010-02-22 14:43 BJT

LONDON, Feb. 21 (Xinhua) -- The Hurt Locker won six the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) awards, including the best film and best director on Sunday.

(L-R) Mark Boal, Kathryn Bigelow, Greg Shapiro and Nicholas Chartier pose with their awards for Best Film 'The Hurt Locker' at the British Academy of Film and Television Arts (BAFTA) award ceremony at the Royal Opera House in London February 21, 2010. (Xinhua/AFP Photo)
(L-R) Mark Boal, Kathryn Bigelow, Greg Shapiro and Nicholas Chartier pose with
their awards for Best Film 'The Hurt Locker' at the British Academy of Film and
Television Arts (BAFTA) award ceremony at the Royal Opera House in London 
February 21, 2010. (Xinhua/AFP Photo)

The Hurt Locker acted as the biggest winner in the BAFTA this year, this Iraq war movie beat off a tough challenge from Cameron's Avatar, which is the biggest-grossing movie ever in the world, to take the best film prize. Both films had been nominated for eight awards each. Further more, The Hurt Locker also took the awards for best cinematography, best editing, best sound and best original screenplay, triumphed again over Avatar.

As the first woman awarded best director, Kathryn Bigelow said it was "beyond our wildest imagination."

US director Kathryn Bigelow poses for photographers with her British Academy of Film Award (BAFTA) for 'Director' for 'The Hurt Locker' at the Royal Opera House in central London. Bigelow scooped the best film BAFTA for her Iraq war movie 
US director Kathryn Bigelow poses for photographers with
her British Academy of Film Award (BAFTA) for 'Director'
for 'The Hurt Locker' at the Royal Opera House in central
London. Bigelow scooped the best film BAFTA for her Iraq 
war movie "The Hurt Locker" on Sunday, beating former 
husband James Cameron's blockbuster "Avatar" to the 
prestigious prize. (Xinhua/AFP Photo)

"This is so unbelievable, we're just so deeply honored and humbled," The Hurt Locker's director added during the ceremony.

Colin Firth won best actor for his role in A Single Man, while Carey Mulligan took the best actress award following her part in An Education.

Editor: Liu Fang | Source: Xinhua