Edition: English | Español Français العربية Pусский | 中文简体 中文繁体 Монгол
Homepage > World

NASA's Juno spacecraft enters Jupiter's orbit

Editor: Zhang Jianfeng 丨Xinhua

07-05-2016 14:23 BJT

July 4 (Xinhua) -- After a journey of almost five years, the Juno spacecraft entered Jupiter's orbit at about 8:53 p.m. PDT (0353 GMT) on Monday evening, the United States National Aeronautics and Space Administration (NASA) confirmed.

"Engine burn complete and orbit obtained. I'm ready to unlock all your secrets, Jupiter," Juno mission posted on Twitter.

The probe fired its main engine at around 8:18 p.m. PDT (0318 GMT) for Jupiter orbit insertion, or as they refer to it in the halls and offices of the Juno team, "JOI."

After the 35-minute burn of a 645-Newton Leros-1b main engine to slow down the spacecraft, Juno was captured by Jupiter's gravity and slipped into the desired orbit.

Soon after the burn was completed, the probe started to spin down from 5 to 2 Revolutions Per Minute (RPM) and turn back toward the sun so that the sun's rays could once again reach the 18,698 individual solar cells that give Juno energy.

"All rays on me. My solar panels now face the sun. I'm the farthest solar-powered spacecraft from Earth," Juno mission reported via its Twitter feed at about 9:44 p.m. PDT (0444 GMT).

 

 

Follow us on

  • Please scan the QR Code to follow us on Instagram

  • Please scan the QR Code to follow us on Wechat