Edition: English | 中文简体 | 中文繁体 Монгол
Homepage > Sports Video

MLB: Cubs win in 10 innings to claim first World Series since 1908


11-03-2016 16:28 BJT

Major League Baseball doesn't get much more exciting that this as the Cleveland Indians hosted the Chicago Cubs in Game 7 of the World Series. It featured the two teams with the longest title drought in the league as Cleveland had not won since 1948 while the long suffering Cubs have been dry since 1908.

Cubs win in 10 innings to claim first World Series since 1908

Cubs win in 10 innings to claim first World Series since 1908

Adding to the drama is the Cubs having clawed back from 3-1 down in the best of seven series to force a final confrontation and somebody's long drought is going to end tonight.

Corey Kluber on the mound for the Tribe and the Cubs lead off hitter Dexter Fowler cranks one to deep center field and it is out of here. A solo shot to get things going and Chicago leads 1-0.

Bottom of the third inning, and the Indians tie it up when Carlos Santana singles into right.

But the Cubs would make it 3-1 and then add to that lead in the fifth when Javier Baez hits a solo blast to right center. Chicago leads 4-1 and by the sounds of it, plenty of Cubs fans in attendance.

The Cubs make it 5-1 but their pitcher John Lester fires a wild pitch off the catcher allowing Santana and then Jason Kipnis to score. 5-3 Chicago on the error.

Eighth inning and it's 6-4 Cubs when Rajai Davis sends this pitch deep and over the wall in left field. A two-run homer that ties it up at 6 and Aroldis Chapman can't belive it.

No scoring in the ninth so we're going to extra innings. Runners on first and second, Ben Zobrist at the plate and he rips a double into left field that makes it 7-6 Cubs.

Miguel Montero sinlges and it's 8-6 Cubs, but the Indians Davis finds space in center field that brings home a runner to make it a one run ball game.

Mike Montgomery comes on in relief and he gets Michael Martinez to send a chopper to thid and the Cubs win the World Series. 8-7 is the final score as Chicago ends the longest title drought in MLB history in a Game 7 thriller becomeing the first team to come back from a 3-1 series deficit since Kansas City in 1985.

Heartbreak for the Indians who came so close.

League Commissioner Rob Manfred awards Chicago Cubs chairman and owner Tom Ricketts the World Series trophy while Ben Zobrist was named the series MVP.

Follow us on

  • Please scan the QR Code to follow us on Instagram

  • Please scan the QR Code to follow us on Wechat