Edition: English | 中文简体 | 中文繁体 Монгол
Homepage > Sports Video

Cristiano Ronaldo wins fourth Ballon D'or Award


12-13-2016 13:09 BJT

The winner of the Ballon D’or Award for the best footballer on the planet is once again Cristiano Ronaldo. The Portuguese forward helped his national side claim itsr first ever European Championship this summer; he also won the Champions League title with Real Madrid.

Cristiano Ronaldo wins fourth honor

Cristiano Ronaldo wins fourth honor

This is the ninth year in a row that the trophy has gone to either Lionel Messi or Ronaldo. Ronaldo also took home the Ballon d’Or prize in 2013 and 2014, and the FIFA award in 2008 while still playing for Manchester United. The Portugal forward is also on the shortlist for FIFA’s prize this year, along with Messi and Antoine Griezmann.

Only Ronaldo and Messi have been voted the best in the world since 2007, when Kaka won the prize. Messi won a record fifth award last year.

The 31-year-old Ronaldo was picked from a list of 30 players by a group of international journalists selected by the French magazine, which for the previous six years awarded the coveted prize in partnership with FIFA.

Messi finished second, with Griezmann in third, Luis Suarez in fourth and Brazilian forward Neymar completing the top five.

“A great honor to receive my fourth golden ball. The emotion is like the first one. It’s the dream come true again. I never thought in my mind to win four times the Golden Ball, so I am so pleased. I am so happy. I have the opportunity to thank all my teammates, the national team, Real Madrid,” Ronaldo said.

“All the people, all the players who helped me to win this individual award, this individual trophy. So as you can imagine, I feel so proud and happy to receive this amazing and beautiful ball. So I am so happy.”

Follow us on

  • Please scan the QR Code to follow us on Instagram

  • Please scan the QR Code to follow us on Wechat